like stars in a clear night sky

Hello this is my firts real blog post in Dikult 203 and its about my tought and reactions about  the e-litt “like stars in a clear night sky” by Shraif Ezzat.

A little diclaimer English is not my native language and im also part dyslexic  so expect some spelling and grammar error. sorry about that.

The work start with an Arbic voice telling you about diffrent story he knows and ask if you want to hear/read them. The voic speaks in arabic but theres english text that tell you what the voice says. After a short introduction you are free to explore the stars thats tells the story. I took this stories as to the type of lore often passed from parents to children, there the parents tell their childeren about their uncel and sister and so on.

I really liked the interface in this work since its easy to understand and eye pleasing. The interface are designed as an night sky with many stars there you need to look for the stars that tells the story.  A cool thing about the stars is, that if you restart or start over with the piece the stars change place. This make every read different and unique.

I started moving the cursor around and pointing it on the differents stars, and just as I had hoped ,some of the stars started showed me text and a story . The first text was the story about his unceld thats life was an test because he wasnt happy in his marriage. Beause I looked at these stories as stories for children (parents telling their kids stories about their aunt and the water) I didnt look for a connection in the different stories.  The way I see it, the story are only connected by the voice telling his family stories to you the reader.

To sum upp my experience with this work: I liked it alot. I think it was a great move to have the night sky as an template to tell the diffrent story, because there are infinitve stars and infinitve stories in this world. Also to change to location on the story stars was great because different places means different stories and experience. The main point for me was that I was able to explore a different colture in this piece. As a guy from Norway Im happy to se storytelling in an more arbic way  and how the stars are more importen in their storytelling and culture than mine.

 

Leave a Reply

